Math Anxiety Test

This is clearly not intended to be scientific or diagnostic – but will, I hope, help you think. It is a variation of a math anxiety test intended for college students that I found on the mathpower.com website.

Rate your answers from 1 to 5; add them up and check your score below.

(1) = Disagree, (5) = Agree.

1. It makes me cringe to think I might have to go to a math class.
2. I am uneasy about doing math in front of other people.
3. I am afraid I won’t be able to answer my child’s math questions.
4. I try to avoid situations where I might have to do math.
5. I understand the math now, but I worry that I won’t when my child gets older.1
6. I tend to zone out when the subject of math comes up.
7. I fear math tests more than any other kind.
8. I don’t like to have to think about math. 1 2 3
9. Sometimes I think I understand it, but later I don’t. . 1 2 3 4 5
10. I’m afraid I won’t be able to homeschool my older child because I’m not good in math. 1 2 3 4 5

CHECK YOUR SCORE:

40-50 Sure thing, you have math anxiety. You don’t have to live with it forever, though.
30-39 No doubt! You’re still fearful about math. You CAN get over it.
20-29 On the fence!.
10-19 Wow!

Math anxiety is a negative emotional reaction to mathematics which causes resistance, avoidance, stress, and even panic. It is possible to avoid passing math anxiety on to your kids and even to get over it yourself.

Leave a Reply

